non step mashing

Anything and everything about beer and brewing it.
rodneygullick

non step mashing

Post by rodneygullick »

hey guys I've got aprox 10kg wheat 10kg Munich 10kg pilsner malt and plenty of m/o I want to use up some wheat and pilsner, most of the recipes I've got is for step mashing I've never done step mashing before, has anyone got a recipe to use up some of these malts without using step mashes
PMowdes

Re: non step mashing

Post by PMowdes »

rodneygullick wrote:hey guys I've got aprox 10kg wheat 10kg Munich 10kg pilsner malt and plenty of m/o I want to use up some wheat and pilsner, most of the recipes I've got is for step mashing I've never done step mashing before, has anyone got a recipe to use up some of these malts without using step mashes

What are you trying to make? And what rest temperatures are the recipes suggesting?

If it's a protein rest or a ferrulic acid you can probably get away without doing it
60 percent of the time it works every time.
steve crawshaw

Post by steve crawshaw »

Yes, not needed. With possible exception of wheat beer ferrulic, but i'm no authority on that. most malts don't need step mash nowadays and why make brewday more complicated than it needs to be?
I like to keep a bottle of stimulant handy in case I see a snake, which I also keep handy.
rodneygullick

Post by rodneygullick »

I will make anything but I've got to start using the malts , otherwise in a while they will no use they will be too old , just want a recipe
EckersKlein

Post by EckersKlein »

Do you happen to have a fermentation refrigeration system? You could do a munich lager, a weizenbock, or any number of continental lagers that make heavy use of munich.

If you ferment at room temp, an american wheat could be fun. 50/50 wheat/pils and ferment with a clean yeast like US-05. You can also add munich for a more malt-forward profile.

Or just make something up! The worst that will happen is beer.