May 2nd Meeting

BCB meet on the 1st Monday of every month at 8pm in the Royal Navy Volunteer, King Street.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/bristolcraftbrewers/
I_used_to_brew

May 2nd Meeting

Post by I_used_to_brew »

I know it's a bank holiday and you'll have been lounging around in the sun and having a BBQ, but, if any of you are up to it....

There will be a BCB meeting on the 2nd May at TFRNV, King St, Bristol at 8pm

Introductions

Items for sale/swap

Interest in visit to hop farm in Worcestershire.

Any other business

Talk on Water by Phil

Buy some beers

Informal tastings

Don't forget the Brewery Trail http://www.bristolfoodconnections.com/f ... ery-trail/ this Saturday and Sunday
PeteThomas

Re: May 2nd Meeting

Post by PeteThomas »

Hello all

Thanks for being so welcoming yesterday evening. I shall remember to bring some of my beer next time! Though you will have to go easy on me as I am still learning from mistakes.

If there are any posts on this forum (or elsewhere on the 'net) on how to convert a fridge to keep to a stable fermenting temp, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Pete
steve crawshaw

Post by steve crawshaw »

Hi Pete
good to meet you. For ale you don't need a fridge for most of the year. You can just put your fermenter in a builders bucket full of water and control the temperature with a cheap aquarium heater. This relies on ambient temps being below your desired fermentation temperature.

If you want to control temperature for e.g. lager fermentation or cold crashing, my advice would be to get a secondhand chest freezer from gumtree \ freecycle and use a temperature controller to set your temps. A freezer is more versatile as the temperature range is greater and will cool quicker, which is handy if you are trying to cool to pitching temps after the boil.

The controller I have referenced is programmable so you can program changes in temperature over time which can help with attenuation.

cheers
steve